My Journey to Joy

March 13, 2013

On the Wings of a Prayer- Poem from a Birthmom

Filed under: Shared Findings — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , , , , ,

Dear Abby: You recently printed a letter from “Marylou in Houston” about the pain of placing a child for adoption. When I went through this experience, I wrote a poem. You have my permission to print it if you think it will help others to understand the roller-coaster emotions a birth mother goes through making this decision.
–LISA BOTE-PHILLIPS, ALASKA

Dear Lisa: I certainly do think it will help. Abby

ON THE WINGS OF A PRAYER

I set you free on the wings of a prayer
To fly through life in His tender care,

You’re free from the nest and the ties that are bound
Free from the pressures I carry around.

If I kept you I’d only be cutting your wings,
Not offering the chance a true family brings.

The decision I’ve made has my heart torn in two,
But I know what I’m doing is the best thing for you.

The sky is so vast, the mountains so high
Take wing and remember: I love you.

Goodbye.

–LISA BOTE-PHILLIPS, a birth mother

1 Comment »

  1. I have had this prayer on my fridge for a very long time. My son was born to me when i was 16 years old, and i gave him up for adoption. Every year on his birthday i light a candle and hope that he has had a good life with parents that provided for him and read this poem, yet i still believe that i have made the right choice.

    Comment by suzieq — October 2, 2013 @ 8:07 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

