My Journey to Joy

February 27, 2013

my kid might…{not} be my kid

Filed under: Shared Findings — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , ,

O Lord, you hear the desire of the afflicted; you will strengthen their heart; you will incline your ear to do justice to the fatherless and the oppressed, so that man who is of the earth may strike terror no more. Psalm 10:17-18

…No matter how they get here, at what age, with what baggage they bring…this child will be our child.

Last night, I was attending a Bible study with the women of my church and adoption was brought up as it’s on the hearts and minds of a few of us in the room. One young mom of two biological children said “it’s amazing how God can pick one child out of so many to enter into a covenant family.” It’s exactly this kind of statement that somedays (honestly) haunts me. Her point reminded me of an interaction I had this summer with a child who had a scary, horrible background and who was desperately trying to take his own life for the 3rd time. I remember coming home to Jon and just feeling so distraught “but why will God give our child this chance and not this child?”

…These can be the tough pills to swallow, the realization of the magnitude of what adoption really means to a Christian family…your child will be given a chance that so many will not be given…

God will have not grown this child out of our biology, but it will undoubtedly be “our own.” More than that though, I ran across this verse at the top this morning and took great comfort in God’s goodness to all of the afflicted. God, in his providence, has a child for us. It will arrive in our home on the exact day that it’s supposed to. They will live here as long as God has ordained for them to.

And at the end of this post, I find myself reminded of an even larger point. I’m reminded of Abraham and his near sacrifice of Isaac…his only Isaac. Perhaps God’s providence in providing us a child is to teach us that actually our child will be our responsibility for as long as God gives us that privilege, but they won’t belong to us either.

my kid will not actually be mine.

http://untilgraceisgone.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/my-kid-might-not-be-my-kid/

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

