My Journey to Joy

February 14, 2013

Love

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: ,

How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called
children of God! And that is what we are! I John 3:1

Love is such a small word that encompasses so many concepts.  I believe it is often misused; I know I use it improperly.  “Oh, I just love those shoes!  I love this weather!  I love…”  Over the years, I’ve come to understand that love is much, much more than an emotion.  It’s a choice.  Sometime it’s easy, other times hard.  To love someone…

Sometimes love hurts.  Sometimes God’s love hurts.  Sometimes He loves us too much to leave us where we are.

“I wonder too…if the rent in the canvas of our life backdrop, the losses that puncture our world, our own emptiness, might actually become places to see.  To see through to God…That that which tears open our souls, those holes that splatter our sight, may actually become the thin, open places to see through the mess of this place to the heart-aching beauty beyond.  To Him…”  ~Ann Voskamp

It’s only on a rare good day that I feel deserving of love.  I’m not worthy.  I feel it in my bones.  But He said I was, in the most real and poignant way possible.  Worth loving.  Worth dying for.  Oh, how He loves!

“Hardships are the Lord’s greatest blessing to the believer.  Without them we would love the Lord only for what He does for us.  Our troubles teach us to love Him for who He is.” ~ Jody Hedlund  This will take the rest of my life, this learning who He is and worshiping Him.  No, it will take eternity.

In Wales, we visited a church in Llangasty, Talyllyn.  It was built in the mid-1500’s, but had been a worship sight even before that.

It is said to be “a thin place” between earth and heaven there, because of all of the prayers that have gone up through the centuries.  I want my heart to be a thin place, however God sees fit to achieve that.  I want to be open to His voice.  I want Him to remove what stands in the way.  I want to receive His love, and offer my love and worship.

“…afflictions eclipsed by glory, and I realize just how beautiful you are…”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

