My Journey to Joy

February 7, 2013

1 Year

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This Saturday my baby turns one year old!  I really can’t believe it.  I look through pictures and wonder “where did that chubby, cuddly baby go?!”  Little man has decided to start walking this week.  I’m caught somewhere between being crazy-proud of him, and nostalgic that it’s going by so quickly.

I’ve been reading his birthmom’s bio today.  Wondering how long she spent answering all of those questions!  And being thankful that she did.  We haven’t met yet, but those sheets of paper give me a little window into seeing who she is.  I want to protect her privacy, but I really wish I could share with you what an amazing person she is!  I wish I could tell you what little I know of what she’s like.  I guess “pretty awesome” will have to do.  (That’s my description of her, anyway!)  I think it’s so cool to see what we have in common in personality, preferences, and even physical characteristics.  I hope someday we can become friends.

I’ve been reading the files from the hospital, too.  Thanking God again for how He had his hand on my baby, before I knew he even existed.  Soaking up little details that I only know from those records.  So thankful to have this piece of my boy’s history to share with him as he grows.

I have a party planned for Saturday.  I’ve been planning it for months.  I’ve scoured Pinterest, bought supplies, borrowed cake pans and stuffed animals, purchased gifts, ordered a custom t-shirt, planned a fun menu, and generally had a blast.  Saturday we’ll celebrate our precious gift from God. 

But my heart is breaking, too.  Will you pray with me for our birthmom?  I can only imagine what Saturday will feel like for her.  I’m praying that she will feel an absolute certainty that she made the right choice for her son.  I’m praying that God will comfort her heart, and surround her with friends and family.  I’m praying that she knows, really knows, how much we love her boy, and how grateful we are that she chose adoption.  I’m praying that she knows we love her, and that she is so special to us.  Most of all, I’m praying that she knows how much God loves her.

How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!   I John 3:1a

3 Comments »

  1. Wow, one year already! I am praying, crying and typing, now understand this, usually I am very good at multi-tasking but crying and typing is a little difficult:). I am praying for the birth mom or our beautiful Nathan just as I do for the birth moms of my precious angels, especially Lauren’s mama, I cannot even fathom what her life is like! I am so happy that you have some history to share with Nathan as he grows up that is just wonderful, I am sure Nathan’s party will be awesome just like all of his family that loves him so much. We are all so blessed that his birthmother chose adoption. I know I for one am very happy she did and I have never had the chance to get me some of that sweet sugar yet, but I am not giving up! Hugs and love to you all.

    Comment by Sarah — February 7, 2013 @ 9:26 AM | Reply

  2. Rejoicing with you and Daniel and Nathan! Happy birthday to a precious little guy! Love you all! Praying with you for his birth mom.

    Comment by Lisa — February 10, 2013 @ 4:26 PM | Reply

  3. Let me just say, THANK YOU!!! The way you speak of your birth mom is how they need to be spoken of. As a birth mom myself, I know exactly what its like to wonder, although I never wondered about my choice, just about my baby and the life she had. I never once regretted my decision to place my daughter for adoption, I knew she would get the life I couldn’t give her. I pray that is how your sons birth mom feels! I know that birthdays, holidays (Mothers Day was one of the hardest for me) are hard to get through. I also have a blog, and recently put up a 2 part post about my story, entitled…Handing Over Part of My Heart, if you would like to read it.
    I hope one day you will meet your sons birth mom and it might be awkward at first, I hope and pray that you will be great friends, and have a close relationship. If there is anything I can answer for you, from a birth moms perspective, please don’t hesitate to ask me.

    Comment by amom27 — March 5, 2013 @ 2:37 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

