My Journey to Joy

August 15, 2012

Honest Relationship

Filed under: Shared Findings — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM

…And so I don’t give the pat Christian answers. I sometimes fear this makes me less Christian. Don’t I believe in the power of prayer? Don’t I believe that we should just trust?

Yes, but in my life things have never been that straightforward. In the grief I’ve gone through, in the troubles I’ve gone through, it’s all involved a lot of struggling with God. Prayer works. Trust works. But sometimes I find it’s not that simple. We also have to acknowledge that life is hard, and sometimes what God asks is hard. But He is big enough to carry you through, even if it means you don’t achieve pure happiness in this life. Sometimes the joy we get is bigger. But let’s not pretend that hurts don’t still hurt.

I believe in wrestling with God, because I have wrestled with God. I don’t believe in status quo, because I think God is always calling us to something more. And I believe that God sometimes makes people out of the box, to encourage other people to be out of the box.

http://tolovehonorandvacuum.com/2012/05/who-i-really-am/

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

