My Journey to Joy

March 22, 2012

Who is He?

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve come to believe that the answer to my questions isn’t an answer at all.  It’s seeing God for who He is.  That always shifts my perspective, clarifies my vision, and transforms my outlook.  So, who is He?

I’ve known of Him all of my life.  I’ve heard stories about Him.  I’ve read letters from Him.  I’ve memorized verses, taken classes, written arguments, studied commentaries, listened to sermons…  I’ve watched other people who know Him.  But that isn’t remotely adequate for where I am now.

I must know Him.  I must know Him in a way that radically changes how I think and what I do.  I’ve staked my life, even my eternal life, on who He is.  I must know Him to my deepest level-my soul must know Him confidently, intimately.  I cannot be unsure of His character, or I am unsettled, weak, and vulnerable.

When Moses saw God, he “bowed his head toward the earth, and worshipped.”  Exodus 34:8  When Isaiah saw the Lord, he said: “Woe is me! for I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips.”  Isaiah 6:5  After God answered Job, he responded: “Behold, I am of small account; What shall I answer thee? I lay my hand upon my mouth.”  Job 40:4  When Jesus challenged Thomas to touch Him and believe he simply said: “My Lord and my God.”  John 20:28

I’ll never know Him completely.  But I want to know Him more.  So much more.  So I am asking.  Asking for Him to show me Himself.  Looking for Him.  Seeking to KNOW Him.

I could write a list of what I know (in my head), but instead I’ll write what I know (in my heart).  Here is where I’ll start.  This is what I know to be true of my God.

He is good.  Always.  Without any wrong.  Regardless of what my circumstances may be, what I feel or perceive, or what anyone may say.  God is good.  All of the time.

I think it’s a pretty good place to start.  What do you know of God?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

