My Journey to Joy

February 9, 2012

Share

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , ,

Recently my friend’s wife posted on Facebook that she was doing her first load of “baby laundry.”  They’re expecting this month, and it has been delightful to observe their progress.  We’ve seen pictures of a tiny “baby bump” grow larger and larger.  We knew the day that the baby’s furniture arrived, and the proud father-to-be assembled it.  We heard about showers, gifts, and plans.  We’ve gotten to celebrate this part of their lives, because they’ve shared their joy.

Things are a little different in our household.  Yes, I’ve done baby laundry.  We purchased furniture, set up a nursery, made lists of whom to call and what to pack.  But you didn’t hear about it.  We haven’t had showers.  Our situation comes with unique aspects and challenges, and a greater chance of disappointment.

A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.  Ecclesiastes 4:12

To be honest, many times the announcement that someone has brought home their baby is the first I knew of an adoption.  It was pretty intimidating to “let the world know” that we were adopting.  “What if…” has run through my mind a million times. 

This journey has not been an easy one.  To date, the news I’ve  had to tell has been mostly disappointing.  But that’s worth sharing too.

Share each other’s burdens, and in this way obey the law of Christ. Galatians 6:2

I’ve certainly been humbled many times through this process.  We’ve opened ourselves up to criticism, thoughtless remarks, and gossip.  I would do it again.  The support we have received has been priceless.  Priceless.  My relationships have deepened.  And I hope I have helped someone else who is experiencing pain. 

I am a firm believer that there is a two-fold power in telling our stories: In the telling, we are healed and in the hearing, someone else finds that they are not alone. And to the person who needs to know that, it really does matter. ~Kirsten Petermann

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for your sharing, and if there is ANYTHING else I can do to support the Walkers as you prepare and wait to bring our baby home, please be open enough to tell me!! I WANT to help. I pray, but I am willing to listen, cry with, comfort, pray, listen, pray…whatever. If there is more I haven’t thought of, please tell me!! I love yall and impatiently (I’m afraid) await that scary, exciting, thrilling, etc etc ,call!! ~Mom

    Comment by Sue Fleming — February 9, 2012 @ 9:37 AM | Reply

    • Love you too, Mom! You and Dad have been amazing…

      Comment by aunthoddy — February 9, 2012 @ 10:16 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

