My Journey to Joy

February 2, 2012

Try

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 10:53 AM
Tags: , , , ,

Recently, I was in a particularly difficult situation.  I was hurting, raw, and emotionally spent.  Then I had to face this, hopefully with grace and discretion.  Afterwards, someone complimented me on how well I “handled” things.  I appreciated their remarks, and it was very affirming to hear.  But…

I reflected later that there have been times when I’ve “tried” much harder, with poorer results.  When the best that I could muster left much to be desired.  When I couldn’t live up to expectations.  This didn’t turn out to be as tough as I assumed it would be.  Then I kept thinking…

About how I judge people’s reactions.  How I look at people’s attitudes.  How I evaluate others-when I don’t have a clue what they’re going through.  God help me.  I really don’t have any idea how hard they’re “trying.”  This may be the absolute best they can do.  Who can say?  Not me.

But he gives more grace. Why he said, God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble.  James 4:6

Why does God sometimes give “special grace” and others keep silent?  Why is it that sometimes we’re amazed at how peaceful/calm/good we feel, and others we’re barely hanging on?  Why is it that sometimes we know we’re being carried beyond our capacities, and others we seem to be struggling on our own?

‘Tis a lesson you should heed,
If at first you don’t succeed,
Try, try again;

Then your courage should appear,
For if you will persevere,
You will conquer, never fear
Try, try again;

If we strive, ’tis no disgrace
Though we do not win the race;
What should you do in the case?
Try, try again

~T. H. Palmer

I’ll keep doing what I can, and hopefully growing stronger.  I’ll keep calling on God for grace.  And I’ll try to assume others are doing the same…

Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 2 Corinthians 12:8-9

1 Comment »

  1. Another powerful message, Holly. We talked last night in small group about how easy it is for us to “assume” that we know another person. We know why they act like they do & why they said something and how they “should” cope. However, when we face tough times we don’t want others to “assume” about us & our motives. My prayer is that God will help me see others as He does. To give the mercy to others that He gives me! Again I thank you for sharing. I needed this.

    Comment by Sue Fleming — February 2, 2012 @ 3:15 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

