My Journey to Joy

January 12, 2012

Future

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

Let us rejoice and be glad and give him glory!”  Revelation 19:7a

It’s hard to rejoice sometimes.  My head understands, but my emotions struggle with the undefined timeline.  I tend to make up “due dates” for things, subconsciously.  I arbitrarily decide when we should hear some news.  Those days I’m on pins and needles, over nothing, really.  And when they pass, and nothing seems to have changed…it’s hard.  Very, very hard.

The book of Revelation paints a picture of a future world.  A world put right side up…”

The world I’m living in is upside down and backward.  There is plenty of hurt.  Plenty of uncertainty.  And it can start to feel like that’s what’s real.  I’ve found myself thinking that we’ll never actually have a child, but just continue to “be in the process of adopting” indefinitely.

“…part of the sweetness of this moment is the anticipation of the moments to come…knowing what is ahead allows us to better savor what we have, to endure the difficulties, and to continue on with courage.”

It feels like we’re dangling from a tightrope.  I know I’ll never get to the other side if I let go, but holding on hurts, and I can’t see the end.  A huge part of our future seems to be in the hands of people who do not know or care about us.  Seems.  Not is.  The reality is that I’m not dangling from anything…I’m cradled in God’s hand.  And He is the one who determines my future, and He says it will be good.

Lord God, I praise you for my future, for You have promised that it is good.  Thank You that my ultimate end is with You in heaven.  I praise You for Your future redemption of the world and of all things in my life.  As I worship You now, I thank You that one day I will worship You face-to-face for all eternity.”  ~Stormie OMartian

2 Comments »

  1. Oh YES!! How sweet to know the Hope that lies in Jesus. My devo yesterday was about Him giving rest (sleep) to His saints. Therefore, when I can’t sleep, I can know I’m not trusting. I’m trying to figure it out for myself-again! I know there can be physical problems that rob me of sleep, but mostly it’s just not “giving it to Jesus.” I praise Him for His Mercy and Patience toward me. And, I praise Him for His Grace!!

    Comment by Sue Fleming — January 12, 2012 @ 1:43 PM | Reply

  2. Throughout this second adoption for Stacie & Steve, I have been worried, concerned for the two kids because I knew that they were not in a good situation from what Stacie had told me, concerned for Stacie because I knew that she had already been so excited before, then had her heart ripped out when they placed them in the father’s care that had just gotten out of jail, there were so many things that I was worried about, I kept telling myself that I was putting it all in God’s hands then all of a sudden I realized that I took it back from him and I was as your Mama said trying to figure it out myself, I am sure he was up there shaking his head and saying “Child of mine, I got this” and I would hear him and think ok, I know you do, but what if?. We are still not through will all the details and the rollercoaster rides with this adoption yet, but I know one thing for sure, He does have this and so much more! We are all so blessed to have such a wonderful GOD that loves us even when we get off track sometimes and think He just isn’t paying attention or not moving fast enough for our needs, I know for sure I have tried his patience more than once. Love you sweet girl, Hugs and kisses too.

    Comment by Sarah — January 14, 2012 @ 12:28 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

