My Journey to Joy

December 29, 2011

Please

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

Pleasing…Pleasant…Pleasure

I am a people-pleaser by nature.  I care very much what others think of me.  What started out in childhood as “like me, like me, like me!” has grown into: “notice me! acknowledge me!  approve of me!  compliment me!  admire me!”

There’s nothing inherently wrong in this, but it does have it dangers.  If I let it, my desire to please others can, ironically, chip away at who I really am.  If someone disagrees with me, I tend to stay away from that topic.  If I sense a conflict, I try to change the subject, or insert humor into the situation.  If a person is at odds with me, I often avoid them altogether.  (The exception to all of these is with my closest friends.)  I become a performer, willing to present whatever the audience wishes.

To find something on which everyone agrees, it must be bland, indeed.  Whenever there is variation, there is preference.  Or opinion.  Or belief.  Even conviction.  Even God’s Truths are seen through our own perspectives, personality, and schemata.

I have to remind myself often that there is one Person I must please.  Through the myriad of voices telling me what I must be and do comes His.  And His is quiet.  And His is right.  And His is peace.

And so, I pray, again and again, a simple prayer: “Lord, help me to think what you want me to think.  Help me to do what you want me to do.  Help me to say what you want me to say.  Help me to be what you want me to be.”

Mt 25:23 His lord said unto him, Well done, good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will set thee over many things; enter thou into the joy of thy lord.

Does anyone else struggle with this?  I’d love to hear your perspectives!

2 Comments »

  1. Well said. And truly, I believe you have found the answer. If we allow Him to direct our thoughts, they will be right.

    Comment by Sue Fleming — December 29, 2011 @ 8:56 AM | Reply

  2. I have also been a people pleaser all my life as well, I know that my main reason on earth is to please God and that is my main goal in life but I find myself wanting to make sure everyone is happy with everything and everyone especially me and sometimes that is just not feasible, you cannot please everyone no matter what you do or how hard you try, but you can please God when you do the right things , think the right things, feel the right things and live the kind of life that you know is His way. It took me many years to realize that ! Many years of migraines, stomach issues and other problems because I thought He put me here to solve the world’s problems for Him and one day I realized that was His job, not mine, not to solve the world’s problems by any means but to let Him do His work and me do mine, I sure feel better now and my health is better now too. Love you sweet girl, you are such a loving caring woman and you love God so much, He knows how much you worship him, he comes to us when we need him and he does it in the quietest ways.

    Comment by Sarah — January 4, 2012 @ 10:04 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

