My Journey to Joy

November 15, 2011

Cry

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:43 PM
Tags: , , ,

 Rejoice with them that rejoice; weep with them that weep.  Romans 12:15

Tonight I am crying with a dear friend who has had an unthinkable disappointment.  I am so sorry for their pain, and so frustrated at the workings of our government’s children system.  And then I read:

Always be glad because of the Lord!  I will say it again: Be glad.  Philippians 4:4

Happy about this situation?  No way!  Still hoping for a different outcome?  You bet!  And praying for that to come soon…  But our God, He hasn’t changed.  (My friend believes this too, and I pray it will be a rich comfort.)

“…all things that are true of God  are true of Him no matter what is going on inside of us or in our lives.”  ~Stormie OMartian

Don’t worry about anything, but pray about everything.  With thankful hearts offer up your prayers and requests to God.  Philippians 4:6

“We [often] neglect to thank God in the midst of whatever is happening (or not happening) to us…”  ~Stormie OMartian

He’s holding me.  He’s holding them.  He’s holding all of us.  And He hears us.  And, oh, I am thankful that He hears us.

Then, because you belong to Christ Jesus, God will bless you with peace that no one can completely understand.  And this peace will control the way you think and feel.  Philippians 4:7

This is what I’m praying for my friend tonight.  God’s peace.  When it doesn’t make sense to feel peaceful.

“When we are fearful, apprehensive, worried, or terrified, the peace of God can restore us to calm, assured confidence.”  ~Stormie OMartian

I can’t take away my friend’s pain.  I can’t give them a sure answer of when or how things will be resolved for their family.  I can bring them before my “God, who gives peace, [and] will be with [them].”  Philippians 4:9b

Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.  Matthew 5:4 

Looking forward to their time of rejoicing and ours…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

