My Journey to Joy

November 10, 2011

Faithful

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 7:59 AM
Tags: ,

 Faithful is he that calleth you, who will also do it. 1Thessalonians 5:24

It’s hard to believe when nothing seems to be happening.  Time strains on faith.  Belief is assaulted by questions.  And I’m tired.

Hast thou not known? hast thou not heard? The everlasting God, Jehovah, the Creator of the ends of the earth, fainteth not, neither is weary; there is no searching of his understanding.  He giveth power to the faint; and to him that hath no might he increaseth strength.  Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall: but they that wait for Jehovah shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; they shall walk, and not faint.  Isaiah 40:28-30

On November 3rd, 2010 I wrote: Infertility packs a double punch.  It’s different from most griefs in that it is both chronic (constant) and crisis (monthly hope/disappointment).   Guess what we’re finding out about adoption?!  Constant wishing/hoping/praying, followed by crisis times (maybe this is the one!).

I can “gather up my courage” for short bursts.  I can face down brief stresses (this will all be over in an hour…).  I can stand up to frightening situations with my adrenaline pumping.  But this?  This is beyond me.  I can’t sustain through years and years of this by myself.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

I read a blog yesterday that told me I’m not alone in feeling this.  (Isn’t God faithful to do that?  Sends along encouragement just when I need it!)

I can’t do this!

When the Lord has whispered to our hearts to move forward in the journey to adopt, we want to say, “I can’t do this.”

When we consider the funds required, we say, “I can’t do this.”

When we ponder various medical special needs, we say, “I can’t do this.”

When the wait drags on and on, we say, “I can’t do this.”

When we finally bring our child home and are faced with difficult issues, we say, “I can’t do this.”

When we share our burdens with others, they often say, “I could never do that.”

But all the while, our Heavenly Father is saying, “No, my child, but I can.”

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Cor 12:9a

Oh, how many days I forget that God never intended for us to do this alone!

~Connie

1 Thessalonians 5:24 The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.

 

1 Comment »

  1. Yet again you have found where I am in this journey. LORD, I believe…help my unbelief!!

    Comment by Sue Fleming — November 10, 2011 @ 4:28 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

