My Journey to Joy

November 3, 2011

Practice

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 12:16 PM
Tags: , , ,

I few weeks ago, I asked my small group a question: “Does it get easier?”  It seems like so often I’ve fallen into a pattern.  God does something/asks something of me, then I “react.”  I’ve promised to always submit to Him, and obey His will, but so often I struggle with His plan.  I worry, argue, and try to understand for several days before just saying “okay.”  This is exhausting!  I know there is something better, because I’ve seen it lived out!  Those people who say “whatever God wants” and mean it…that’s who I want to emulate.  But how?

Lord, I believe; help thou mine unbelief. Mark 9:24

Practice.  I’m so far from where I want to be, but I can see a difference.  Every time I choose to say “yes,” I’m practicing.  Forming a habit of agreeing with whatever God has for me.  Intentionally.  Through tears, gritted teeth, whatever it takes.  I will bend to His will.  Over and over.  Again and again.

 Mt 6:10 Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done…

I was talking to a friend the other day, and he mentioned how the best athletes don’t think about each move.  They’ve done each step so many times that it becomes instinctive.  It clicked.  It’s not a matter of being some sensational Christian with an unhuman lack of self-preservation.  It’s choosing to believe that God does know what’s best.  And then choosing to believe that God does know what’s best.  And then choosing…  Over and over.  Again and again.  Practice.

James 1:3 …because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.

I may not be destined for the saintly major leagues.  But if I keep practicing…doing the next right thing…and working out my faith muscles, I know He’ll take care of the results.

Romans 5:3-4 …we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.

1 Comment »

  1. No magic wands, no fairy dust, just plain doing the right thing every moment of the day. Choosing to trust, choosing to believe in God’s way!! Thanks for the excellent reminder!!

    Comment by Sue Fleming — November 4, 2011 @ 1:06 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

