My Journey to Joy

September 22, 2011

Perspective

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , ,

Have you ever had something seem so big, so impossible, so hopeless that you were just sure there was no solution?  You think and cry and talk, with little or no profit.  Then, after a good night’s sleep, it wasn’t so big after all?  (Or maybe that’s just me?)

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:6-7

I don’t have a job.  That’s a fact.  I am contributing very little income to my household.  Another fact.  We need significant additional income for an adoption.  Fact.  I have tried to get a job.  I have applied for 21 jobs, had 2 interviews- nothing.  So, here I am.  29-years-old, educated, experienced, qualified…and unemployed!  The facts seem pretty bleak, and certainly frustrating.  But do I know all of the facts?

The White Horse

I only see the fragments.  I don’t know the full scope of what God has for me.  I pray that He will give me the job He has for me, and He has given me none.  I will continue to do my part in applying, but I must trust Him to do His part in providing.

Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down, but a good word makes him glad. Proverbs 12:25

When I worry over money, I’m looking from my perspective.  This isn’t a new problem!  In the AD 190’s the dean of Christianity’s foremost school wrote that the Master “bids him banish from his soul his notions about wealth, his excitement and morbid feeling about it, the anxieties, which are the thorns of existence, which choke the seed of life.”* So that panicked, choking feeling isn’t unique to me either!  🙂

A wise man once said: “Sometimes the most important change that can help a situation is simply perspective.”  (I’m awfully glad God let me marry him!)  So, who’s perspective is most important?  We all know the “right” answer, but…

Whatever You may do, I will thank You.
I am ready for all; I accept all.
Let only Your will be done in me…

And I’ll ask for nothing else, my Lord.”

~Charles de Foucauld

Lord, please continue to realign my focus,

and give me Your perspective.

*G. Clair Sams, The Bible Methodist, Vol 43, Issue 4

2 Comments »

  1. God Bless you & Daniel, Holly! He is sooo able, but unfortunately you have my (& Papaw’s) personality and we have to just wrestle awhile before we leave it with Him. Then, sometimes we pick it up again, sometimes! I love you & He is giving me some peace @ the present time. I’m praying!!!

    Comment by Sue Fleming — September 24, 2011 @ 7:39 PM | Reply

    • Worry is such a “natural” response for me! I want God to help me choose trust over worry, again and again. Maybe someday it’ll become more instinctive!

      Comment by aunthoddy — September 25, 2011 @ 8:07 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

