My Journey to Joy

September 15, 2011

Hope

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , , ,

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.  Hebrews 11:1

Hope is a powerful thing.  It is what drives us.  It keeps us looking ahead, reaching.  It’s the light in our hearts makes us hold on when things are hard.  But it’s also dangerous.

Hope deferred maketh the heart sick… Proverbs 13:12

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve thought of this verse.  Unfulfilled hopes are painful.  Disappointment is hard to carry. But I was missing something important.  Deferred means “withheld for or until a stated time.”  (Merriam Webster)  God’s time.  And there’s more to the verse!

but when the desire cometh, it is a tree of life.

That’s what hope is!  Believing that this isn’t for forever!  There is something more!  I have something to look forward to!

Be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart, all ye that hope in the LORD. Psalm 31:24

Hope is absolutely necessary.  For a while, I tried my best not to hope, fearing how painful it would be when I was disappointed.  It didn’t work.  For one thing, I reacted every time any new possibility presented itself- heart pounding, palms sweating, mind racing.  What’s more, it took away my motivation.  Why would we continue working towards this goal if we never thought it would happen?  I don’t know when or how, but I believe God is working through everything for His purpose in His time.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoiceth: my flesh also shall rest in hope.  Psalm 16:9

This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope.  It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.  They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.  The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.  The LORD is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him. It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the LORD. Lamentation 3:21-26

I love the promise God made to Israel, and I believe it will be true for me too.

The Lord your God wins victory after victory and is always with you.   He celebrates and sings because of you, and he will refresh your life  with his love.  The Lord has promised: Your sorrow has ended, and you  can celebrate.  Zephaniah 3:17-18

1 Comment »

  1. How absolutely beautiful, Holly! I needed that sooo much. What a wonderful, awesome, faithful, omnipotent God we serve. How freeing to be able to put every part of our lives in His care, KNOWING that “He cares for us, has a plan for us for a hope & future, and CAN bring it to pass”. PTL!! Happily waiting for your “greater yes”, Mom

    Comment by Sue Fleming — September 15, 2011 @ 9:10 AM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

