My Journey to Joy

September 7, 2011

Grace

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 5:00 AM
Tags: , , ,

I follow a blog called A Holy Experience.  Ann, the author, signs her posts “All’s Grace.”  She emphasizes eucharisteo, or always giving thanks, even for the hard things.

This is where I glitch, like a computer unwilling to read the data.  See, I can handle I Thessalonians 5:18: “…in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  But Ephesians 5:20?  “Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ”?

I’ve become a good deflector.  When I see something bad occur, I notice something worse that didn’t.  “We had a wreck, but praise the Lord we weren’t seriously hurt.”  “A tree hit our house, but at least we have insurance for that.”  “Those words hurt, but I do have other friends.”  I dance all around the painful, the ugly, the unpleasant.

What if that thing that I avoid, what I refuse to accept, what I turn away from- is exactly what God intended for me?  What if He sent those things that I would never choose expressly for my good?  What if I hold Him responsible for what I have deemed “bad”?  What if my perspective is so skewed by my self-centered nature that I need a whole new vision?

This family’s testimony of grace is astonishing:

My God is gracious…but I don’t always know what that looks like.  I’m not who determines what is “good” or “bad.”  He is the potter (Isaiah 64:8) and the gardener (John 15), shaping and pruning at His discretionHe knows what is truly good.  My part is to present myself to Him, as a living sacrifice, to be transformed by Him, so that I can know His will, and what is good and acceptable and perfect.  (Romans 12:1-2, my paraphrase)

And the God of all grace, who called you unto his eternal glory in Christ, after that ye have suffered a little while, shall himself perfect, establish, strengthen youI Peter 5:10

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you, Holly, for sharing the depths of growth in which God is leading you! Wow! It is stretching me also! I am so proud of Daniel & you! I am so blessed to have children like you! I love you and Baby(s?) Walker more than I can say!! I cannot wait to meet them-my grandkids!

    Comment by Sue Fleming — September 8, 2011 @ 10:25 PM | Reply

  2. Holly, This post meant so much to me…I too am learning the lessons of taking the ‘bad’ with the ‘good’. It seems that the Lord has kept in this schooling for awhile now:) I pray you and Daniel are blessed beyond measure~ love ya girl!

    Comment by Michelle earls — September 10, 2011 @ 12:11 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

