My Journey to Joy

January 16, 2011

Trust

Filed under: Contemplations — aunthoddy @ 9:23 PM
Tags: , ,

Sometime last year I read a book called Empty Arms, Aching Heart.  It is a collection of essays about infertility.  It’s a very interesting book, and easy to read.  I highly recommend it.  Here is one  article about domestic adoption.  It talks about a failed adoption.

I want to warn all of you, that there are many, many failed adoptions.  Everything may seem to be working out, but nothing is certain until everything is finalized.  We may complete our paperwork, prepare our nursery, and even get our baby…only to have it taken away.

Children are a gift from God.  He is in control.  But sometimes we forget.

I assumed that I would get pregnant.  I assumed I would have a healthy baby.  I’m wary to assume that I’ll have a successful adoption the first time.

I used to take so much for granted.  Now I’m aware of what can go wrong, the many details that could make any particular adoption impossible.  Now I realize that our child, however and whenever God sends it, will be a miracle.

And that’s perfect.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

